Annie's Guest House Reviews 2012

Home > Accommodation > Reviews

Have previous guests enjoyed their stay at Annie's Guest House in South Shields ?

Here you can read our collected online reviews and guest feedback...

  • Super B&B. Stayed at Annies Guest House for the second time and once again was very happy. Comfortable room with flat screen tv and writing desk (important as I was on a training course). Breakfast is first class. Hope to return again, some time. 5/5

  • 5/6. Room. The stay was a great experience.

  • 6/6. Really good value for money. Friendly staff and lovely food.

  • 6/6. What a pleasure. Myself and family travelled 250 miles for a funeral. We had such a warm welcome, it lifted our spirits right away. The rooms were very comfortable, with coffee and tea available. Breakfast was superb, couldn't have asked for better.

  • 6/6. Single room bed and breakfast. Booked into this hotel for a few nights stay in early October 2012. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean, tidy and was the right size, not too large and not too small. It was large enough to move around in, with the bags. There were tea/coffee and even a small iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. Good choice of breakfast cereals were available along with a good quality English breakfast. This was cooked to order so the food was piping hot and you could have a choice as to what you had. Hotel was near enough to the town centre, bus station and the metro station for ease of access. All the amenities were about a 10 minute walk away. The sea front was even closer being within 5 minutes walk along with large open parks. All in all this was a very friendly well run hotel that will make for a nice pleasant stay.

  • 10/10

  • The rooms were kept spotlessly clean. There is a lovely big shower room if you don't have the en-suite. Just 5 minutes walk from the beach and 2 minutes from the local park, which boasts a lake with boats available and a miniature railway. Also ideally located for restaurants only 5 minutes walk away. The breakfast was excellent with a full choice of English breakfast, or cereals, juices toast and jams if you prefer. All the rooms have tea making facilities which were topped up everyday including biscuits. Anything else you needed you only had to ask. 9/10

  • Very friendly, clean and good value. 6/6

  • Great place. Close to town but far enough to be quiet. Blackout blinds were a godsend. Room was very clean, modern and great location. The breakfast was fantastic. Large, well cooked and served with a jolly smile. I'd definately use again. 6/6

  • The rooms were kept spotlessly clean. There is a lovely big shower room if you don't have the en-suite. Just 5 minutes walk from the beach and 2 minutes from the local park, which boasts a lake with boats available and a miniature railway. Also ideally located for restaurants only 5 minutes walk away. The breakfast was excellent with a full choice of english breakfast, or cereals, juices toast and jams if you prefer. All the rooms have tea making facilities which were topped up everyday including biscuits. Anything else you needed you only had to ask. 9/10

  • No room key was required or card, just a number to access the room. Plenty of coffee, tea and hot chocolate with a pack of ginger nut biscuits. The room even had a hair dryer and a cute little ironing board which hung in the wardrobe with an iron. The cooked breakfast was delicious with a good choice and there was also an excellent choice of preserves. The hotel owner was friendly and helpful. The room even though small had a comfortable bed, a flat screen TV and a sink and everything was nice and compact. The best thing of all it was great value for money and for all this I would recommend it. 9.2/10

  • Los baños estaban impecables, la habitacion aunque pequeña, estaba muy limpia. La atención fue excelente. 9.2/10

  • Very pleasant stay. Great breakfast. Thank you very much!

  • Very good. Thank you. Thanks to June.

  • Really good thank you.

  • Thanks for a very nice stay.

  • Excellent breakfast, good nights sleep. Great value for money.

  • Los baños estaban impecables, la habitacion aunque pequeña, estaba muy limpia. La atención fue excelente. 9.2/10

  • Close to beach and town and all attractions! Small and friendly. 8.8/10

  • Nice stay. Awesome breakfast.

  • 5/5. Nice quiet location good standard of accommodation. Room well maintained, included iron, ironing board, extra blankets, hairdryer, wooden coat hangers in wardrobe, 30ml toiletry bottles etc. Sea view was great. Very comfortable. Staff very good, friendly and keen to help with any requests.

  • Well what can be said. Excellent staff. Excellent accomodation. Altogether first class. And June every time English breakie. 10/10

    - Comments from a guest who stayed for eight nights in one of our standard single bedrooms.

  • Close to beach and town and all attractions! Small and friendly. 8.8/10

  • An excellent stay, very clean facilities, ample free parking directly opposite hotel. Bonus of free high speed internet. Good quality cooked breakfast in the am. 10/10

  • Excellent stay could not have asked for more staff tremendous. Thank you very much for having us. We will tell everyone to stay here we will be back again. - Comments from four guests who stayed for three nights in our standard quad room.

  • Thank you card from a guest who regularly stays with us in one of our en suite double bedrooms.

  • 5/5. Free secure bike parking was excellent. Room was a good size, very clean and the staff were friendly and welcoming, hotel fully met our needs providing good value for money.

  • We hope to see you again.

    - Thank you card from a family who stayed in an en suite double and an en suite triple bedroom for four nights.

  • We love staying here.

    - Comments from guests who regularly stay with us in one of our en suite triple bedrooms.

  • Recommended. When I checked in I asked to be given a room with a desk and a chair in it so I could do some work, my room had already been allocated because they were full but I was told that all rooms have a desk and chair which is good for a business traveller. Good fast and free wifi connection - was given the password during check-in, didn't have to ask for it. Ample free parking directly opposite hotel. 6/6

  • An excellent stay, very clean facilities, ample free parking directly opposite hotel. Bonus of free high speed internet. Good quality cooked breakfast in the am. 10/10

  • I liked the welcoming manner of the staff and also thought the breakfast was excellent. 10/10

  • Comments from guests who stayed two nights in our standard twin bedroom.

  • Thank you card from a guest who stayed in one of our standard single bedrooms for twelve weeks whilst studying at South Tyneside College.

  • 5/5. I had a good experience at this B&B. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was of a very good quality. The location was excellent for the purpose of my visit. The room was cleaned everyday which I thought was very good. No extra charge for paying by credit card./p>

  • Thank you card from a couple who stayed in one of our standard double bedrooms for three nights.

  • TripAdvisor Certificate Of Excellence 2012.

  • Very friendly, only draw back was the bathroom was not on the same floor as the bedroom we stayed in, apart from that everything was great. 6/6

  • Good. Very nice here and will be back again soon. 6/6

  • I liked the welcoming manner of the staff and also thought the breakfast was excellent. 10/10

  • Very friendly owners/staff good position for public transport, clean and warm rooms with tea making facilities, comfortable bed, the big surprise was you could choose your own breakfast, and you can also take in your own food to eat, there is a fridge and a microwave oven for guests to use (most unusual but welcome) I can recommend this guest house to anyone, and will stay here again. A big Thank you to Linda and her mother. 9.6/10

  • Dear Annie's Guest House. Thank you very much for your lovely hospitality and welcoming atmosphere. We have enjoyed our stays here immensely. We will be recommending you. Thanks again. PS The breakfasts are always delicious too. - Thank you card from guests who stayed in our standard twin bedroom for six nights.

  • 5/5. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. They gave us very good directions of local area and the buses we needed to catch and things like that. The atmosphere was very pleasant and a good hearty breakfast in the morning. Plus free parking and wifi.

  • Thank you card from a guest who stayed in one of our standard single bedrooms for ten nights.

  • Thank you for making us so welcome, nothing was too much trouble. If you are ever in the Millom area, come and visit two old "Millomites". Best regards. - Thank you card from a couple who stayed in one of our en suite double bedrooms for five nights.

  • Jewel in the Crown! What a smashing little find! We were going to a concert with a day or so off tagged on. Annie's was the best recommended in the area, so we went for it. Couldn't have been better. Spick and span, spotlessly clean. Enthusiastic and friendly welcome from Linda. I imagine that she can tell from the booking date and the ticket release dates why we were there - and she dispensed great advice about how best to travel. Saved us hours - we bumped into another couple the following day at TAOTN (The Angel of the North) who stayed elsewhere and did the Metro, it took them half the night to get back. It's also quiet. Very quiet. Pull down the blackout blind and you may just miss breakfast! South Shields itself offers a wide variety of evening food and entertainment, and again our host had all the details to hand. All within walking distance in a nice quiet part of town. Annie cooks a fine breakfast - one of the best. Scrambled egg is the acid test and she passes with flying colours. Just superb. I'd be surprised if I didn't stay again very shortly as I travel to that part of the country quite often. 6/6

  • Very friendly owners/staff good position for public transport, clean and warm rooms with tea making facilities, comfortable bed, the big surprise was you could choose your own breakfast, and you can also take in your own food to eat, there is a fridge and a microwave oven for guests to use (most unusual but welcome) I can recommend this guest house to anyone, and will stay here again. A big Thank you to Linda and her mother. 9.6/10

  • Alternative to faceless chain hotels. Working in the North East sometimes you just cant face another night in a faceless, soulless chain hotel. Thought I would look for a good B and B near the sea and booked on the strength of the previous reviews. Excellent customer service from the moment I arrived, nothing was too much trouble. The room and the facilities were great (free wi-fi a bonus) and the breakfast cooked to order was 1st class. Quick walk down to the front for an evening meal in the sunshine wrapped up a great evening. 6/6

  • Great Location for South Tyneside District Hospital. After gaining employment at STDH I was concerned at my travelling time from North Yorkshire. I looked into hospital accomodation but nothing was particularly useful to me... I googled Hospital Accomadation, South Shields and up sprung Annie's Guesthouse. Wow! What a gem! I have now stayed here on several occasions and each time I've been greeted like an old friend and made to feel welcome. I have stayed in a single, double and the family room (though only booked double!) and each and every room has been clean, tidy and contained everything you could require for an overnight stay. I will admit that I prefer the single rooms for their cosiness. Staying away from home along can be lonely and the family room was huge for just me. Linda is very friendly and super efficient checking you in and sorting out room codes even for late check-ins as hospital shifts can be a little unreliable for getting off at time. Well, I needn't have worried. Everything was sorted for me and I was able to arrive without problem. My room was cleaned whilst I was at work every day and all the facilities replenished. The breakfast is good June is evidently very experienced in providing this service as I have received whatever I have ordered within about 10 minutes of arriving downstairs. Not only this, but the website advertises breakfast from 7.30 June has happily facilitated an earlier breakfast in view of hospital shifts and I have not been limited in what I can order due to the early arrival. Breakfast is tasty. Cereal and juice followed by cooked breakfast. You eat your cereal whilst June cooks breakfast. Obviously if you choose not to have cereal then you can sit and drink your tea watching TV waiting for your breakfast. Checking out is no bother. They take cards or cash and you can sort it out over breakfast and I've never been left waiting around to pay whilst June is busy. I will definitely be staying there again I've already booked for my next 2-3 weeks of shifts! Room Tip: Rooms are allocated for you. 5/5

  • 9.2/10

  • Excellent value and service at Annie's. Very well located, Annie's offers excellent value, good rooms and food with free internet access. You can use fridge, microwave, plates and cutlery making it so much more homely than a hotel stay. Black out blinds assist a good night's sleep. Don't think you can do much better. 5/6

  • 5/5. Excellent Bed and Breakfast. Wanted a bed for the night and a good breakfast for me and my teenage son who were staying over after going to the match in Newcastle. We got everything we needed and more. A large comfortable ensuite room with double and single bed, large flat screen TV, free wi-fi and tea and coffee facilities and we could park right outside free of charge. The property was in a quiet road but close to the town centre and I had a peaceful night's sleep which is more than can be said for my son (due to my snoring apparently!!) Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious and we could even watch Match of the Day while we enjoyed it. We received a warm welcome from everyone we met and would have no hesitation recommending Annies to anyone visiting the area. Great value for money.

  • The room was spotless and comfortable and the guest house was in a good location and was good value. Also the breakfast was spot and and set us up for the day. Would stay there again. 10/10

  • Thank you card from guests who stayed four nights in one of our en suite double bedrooms.

  • Thank you card from guests who stayed five nights in one of our en suite twin bedrooms.

  • 5/5. The place was very clean, and had a great solid wood bed, large flat screen tv and plenty of tea and coffee in the room. It was also remarkably cheap accommodation for the quality of it.

  • Thank you for a very comfortable stay with our best regards.

    - Thank you card from guests who stayed seven nights in one of our standard double bedrooms.

  • The room was spotless and comfortable and the guest house was in a good location and was good value. Also the breakfast was spot and and set us up for the day. Would stay there again. 10/10

More reviews...

Annie's Guest House In South Shields Latest Blog Post

Black Friday Discount

This Friday 23rd November we have an exclusive Black Friday special offer discount code available... READ MORE

Annie's Guest House In South Shields Latest Review

Very lovely stay overall, nice spacious clean rooms, comfy bed and nice and warm. Staff were more than accommodating and make a beautiful breakfast. Thank you for a brilliant stay 5/5... READ MORE


 

Last online reservation received: Tuesday 11th December 2018, 10:39 Country: United Kingdom