Annie's Guest House Reviews 2013

Home > Accommodation > Reviews

Have previous guests enjoyed their stay at Annie's Guest House in South Shields ?

Here you can read our collected online reviews and guest feedback...

  • Thank you card from one of our regular guests.

  • 9.6/10. Exceptional. + Food good very clean all round. Annie's is a good family run b&b. beach pub and good food just down the road as well. - Only one night stay as working.

  • 10/10. Exceptional. Annie was very friendly and welcoming. Also very helpful with information. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious.

  • 10/10. Exceptional. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and was ideal what we needed. The bathroom was down the stairs but I would still recommend it for couples to stay.

  • 6/6. Very friendly place to stay. Although not what you would call modern accommodation, we found Annie's to be really friendly. With good clean and comfortable rooms. The cooked breakfast was excellent, with a good choice for all. The location is ideal for visiting the area and easy walking distance to all amenities in South Shields. Easy parking across the road.

  • 5/5. Buon rapporto qualitá-prezzo, soggiorno piacevole. Cercavo una sistemazione nella zona costiera di Newcastle durante un tour fotografico automobilistico e questa Guesthouse é stata la giusta soluzione... Quando ci muoviamo per questo genere di lavori cerchiamo sistemazioni economiche, ma che siano comode e, soprattutto, ci consentano di parcheggiare le nostre auto in un posto sicuro e senza spendere vagonate di denaro. Qui ci siamo trovati benissimo, struttura pulita ed ordinata, senza troppi fronzoli ma con tutto ciĆ² di cui avevamo bisogno, un ampio parcheggio gratuito, il wi-fi libero e compreso nel prezzo ed anche una buona colazione cucinata al momento. E a due passi da lì c'é la spiaggia, e la costa (bellissima)... Lo consiglio a tutti.

  • 9.6/10 Exceptional. The breakfast was amazing. The staff are very friendly. I've enjoyed my stay at Annie's guest house.

  • 4/5. Good Value. We stayed there for two nights after our Hadrian Wall Walk. Breakfast is good and we especially liked that we could eat early in the morning (6.30am) as we had to catch our flights. Since our room was to the back and only had a small window it was kind of dark so good thing we didn't want to stay in the room during day hours since there was lots to see in Newcastle and South Shields and the weather wasn't too bad either.

  • First class service. No complaints. Thank you.

  • 8.2/10. Superb. (The hotel staff were very warm, good breakfast, warm and comfortable. Walking distance to the beach.)

  • Lovely homely B&B! Couldn't want for anything!

  • 8.8/10 Fabulous. Had a good time would stay there again.

  • 5/5. Very good, enjoyed my stay here. The two of us were ‘upgraded’ to a family room (room two) with a double bed and two singles fit for four guests. It wasn't much of an upgrade as there's only so many beds one can sleep on, and (as a result of the upgrade?) there was limited place to put our bags. Good. Nice personal touch from the owner, Annie. I called on day of check in to request a change in check in time outside of the hours as prescribed online, didn't have any issues. All guests have breakfast provided. It's very good, with orange juice, tea, coffee, a large choice of cereals (free flow), toast, and a freshly cooked English breakfast (you can customise if to your preference, just ask!). Delicious! The room had some awesome Scottish cookies and bourbons on a tray very nice. Also came with some instant hot chocolate and coffee. These supplies (including the biscuits) were automatically replenished the next day wonderful! Password-based entry system to both the building and room meant that there were no keys to lose. All these come at a very good price, if you book directly from their website, and not through another agent (eg Booking.com or Expedia). It cost me just £40/night for two people. The not-so-good. If you choose a non-ensuite room as I did, be aware that the bathroom is downstairs. The more quietly you tiptoe down the stairs at night, the louder the steps seem to creak! Sound proofing between the walls isn't very good either, and occasional loud banging from neighbouring guests could be startling. Doesn't seem to have air conditioning. Not a problem for us on a cool September weekend, but I imagine that it might get hot in summer months. Location. If you're coming from the Metro, especially with large and heavy bags, the walk here can get difficult with undulating roads and steep pavements. Although having said that, bathroom will be on another level.

  • 6/6. Great value for money. Lovely people. No complications. It is what it says on the tin.

  • 10/10 Exceptional. + Everything. - Nothing.

  • 10/10 Exceptional. Everything I needed.

  • 10/10 Exceptional. Breakfast, how clean it was.

  • 8.8/10. Fabulous. I had a good experience at this B&B. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was of a very good quality. The location was excellent for the purpose of my visit. The room was cleaned every day which I thought was very good.

  • 10/10. Exceptional. Very pleasant b/b great food.

  • 4/5. Recent stay overall opinion. We came back from Annies yesterday after a pleasant three night stay my only bad point about Annies is we was on the top floor with mobility problems but this was our fault it wasn't mentioned on booking the room was small but very clean and well equipped even iron and small ironing board you could use fridge in dining room and microwave another nice thought and breakfast is freshly cooked to order and lovely it was too the bathroom was shared and on the middle landing but this wasn't too much of a problem I would stay there again but would need a room on a lower floor you were made to feel welcome but these people did not intrude into your holiday unless you wanted them to. Room Tip Just make your needs known on booking to make sure you get a good room.

  • 8.3/10. Very good. L'amabilite de la patronne. Le calme de la ville.

  • 9.6/10. Exceptional. Good location. Just 5 minutes from the sea front and the nearest bus stop. Secure key-less entry, handy for two of us not having to worry about getting locked out. Good tea and coffee facilities and a sink in the room. Excellent full English breakfast. The double room wasn't en-suite but the bathroom was just down the stairs. (A bit like being at home). Never even saw the people we were 'sharing' it with. (Remember to take a dressing gown).

  • 6/6. Great stay. Very clean and tidy friendly would stay again.

  • 6/6. Top floor hot days but top service as well. Staying here during recent heat wave, meant that the single rooms on top floor were extremely hot, but an open window did help during the two nights' stay. The cleanliness was absolutely top notch, better than some 5 Star hotels, food was good and plentiful and accommodations made for those who don't eat wheat. Bed was comfortable due to quality of mattress memory foam. The only down side was being on the 3rd floor and having to walk down two flights of very creaky stairs to use the toilet. Shower that was shared with 2 other rooms was excellent! The owners go out of their way to be very helpful when finding places to eat in the area. Friendly owners, couldn't ask for better!

  • Thank you card from a couple who stay with us annually for five nights in one of our en suite double bedrooms.

  • 6/6. Annies South Shields. Excellent guest house with friendly staff.

  • 5/6. Top class thanks.

  • 6/6. Annie's Guest House. This was a very pleasent stay, rooms were clean and all facilities advertised were present. Beds were made every day and vegetarian breakfast was served.

  • 5/6. Annies.

  • TripAdvisor Certificate Of Excellence 2013.

  • 5/5. I loved this place! I'm a vegetarian and it is truly the most difficult thing to deal with when traveling. Luckily, this adorable little bed and breakfast caters to vegetarians AND vegans, and I must admit, their food was absolutely delicious! Another thing I really enjoyed about this place was the fact that there were no hidden fees. Wifi was free, parking was free and public transportation was within walking distance. I was visiting my cousin who attends Newcastle Medical School and it was my first time in the UK. Due to my unforgettably stress-free stay, I'll definitely be visiting again.

  • Very pleasant. We were greeted in a friendly manner. Very clean, nice sunny room, short walk to beach. Our room did not have an ensuite but we were the only ones using the communal bathroom which was an outstanding standard. Our room was smallish in the attic, very comfortable with hand basin, tea coffee etc. very good value, and a very pleasant lady running it. Made us feel very much at home. 8.3/10

  • 6/6. Very friendly guest house. Clean. Comfortable accomodation. Friendly efficient staff. Food standard excellent and large portioned breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

  • This B&B was the cleanest I have ever stayed in I have stayed in all kinds of hotels and B&Bs they could teach some five stars a thing or two. Breakfast was excellent a large choice of cooked food beds really comfy keyless entry was great they also have a fridge and microwave for the customers use we had a a really nice time. 10/10

  • Thank you card from a couple who stayed four nights in one of our standard double bedrooms.

  • Nice place, good people. Will come back again.

  • Highly recommended. 6/6

  • Excellent and friendly service, beautifully kept rooms with kettles, irons etc. Very comfortable beds, TVs in the rooms, free wifi, no need to carry keys as doors were opened with codes, the shared bathroom was fantastic. Provided really nice, fluffy towels too. Easily one of the loveliest B&Bs I've stayed in for a long while. Extremely good value for money in my opinion too. 9.6/10

  • Great service, good location, parking close by. 9.2/10

  • 5/6. Friendly and clean. Very welcoming, provided vegan food. Accommodation very clean. Lovely big bath in separate bathroom.

  • 8.8/10

  • I enjoyed my stay at your guest house. The quad room is very clean and a lot nicer than I thought. I liked how you have iron/hair dryer etc in the room. The toilets and bathroom were very clean. I will definitely recommend and stay here again! Thanks. - Guest feedback after a four night stay in our standard quad room.

More reviews...

Annie's Guest House In South Shields Latest Blog Post

Black Friday Discount

This Friday 23rd November we have an exclusive Black Friday special offer discount code available... READ MORE

Annie's Guest House In South Shields Latest Review

Very lovely stay overall, nice spacious clean rooms, comfy bed and nice and warm. Staff were more than accommodating and make a beautiful breakfast. Thank you for a brilliant stay 5/5... READ MORE


 

Last online reservation received: Tuesday 11th December 2018, 10:39 Country: United Kingdom